I have always considered myself lucky in that, as an "original owner", my trailer had never been plucked of all it's little cool tidbits. I have all the original shower stuff, like towel bar and little wire soap basket. I have the original porch light and lighting throughout. And, I have all the original cabinet hardware. But now that we are putting Humpty Dumpty back together again, I found myself in need of a few extra drawer pulls. (mmmmm....new trash/recycling cabinet...mmmmm)

Ahh, the magic of the internet. It is especially strong for those who need weird, obscure, 60 year old parts. I went back to the Etsy shop, Vintage Trailer Shop, where I had bought the red glass beehive taillights, and lucked right out. I happily snapped up a set of 5 of pulls. Only guess what? I opened the box when it arrived and out popped a lagniappe- pull no 6! Lucky dice! 

While I think I have wiped out the stock at the above site, never fear in case you or a loved one needs some of these fab chrome pulls. I'm not just bragging- I have a resource for you: I found another great shop on Etsy, Not So Hardware who has the most elusive of vintage goodies: Old Store Stock. Of these exact handles!! That's like finding a unicorn! So, if you have a spartan, or a vintage trailer you want to trick out in original 50's style, I suggest you pick up a few. (BTW, the shipping is for as many handles as fit in a small flat-rate box, so LOAD UP.)

The world is SO full of interesting people, doing interesting things. Pretty awesome, yes? 

(Ya'll know what a lagniappe is? Mark Twain once called it "a word worth traveling to New Orleans to get". And, I'm just giving it to you! You're welcome. Regional words for the win!) 





Leave a Reply.