Picture
Hey Ya'll, for my birthday my awesome friend Monica arranged this work of edible art (aka "cake") that put all my favorite things right on one fork: vintage Spartan trailer + chocolate+ Orla Kiely+ sass! 
Picture
Here is another look, complete with added paper umbrella and festive candles. And, in case you are not just glued to my blog, I'll refresh your memory about those flowers. They are inspired by the Orla Kiely fabric I just poshed up the interior of my trailer with. Sweet details! 

Monica IS the birthday cake fairy. On my birthday I always have my girlfriends over for cake. It's my tradition. And ever since I met Monica, she has put herself right in charge of that cake. The first year she called up Whole Foods and ordered me a beautiful cake, frosting roses and all. And they asked what the cake should say on top. And Monica replied, "Well, it's for a woman's birthday." So the day came and she picked up the cake...and.... and... I love this! the cake said: "Happy Woman's Birthday" in fancy script. I laughed so hard I'd liketa die. Hilarious! So, naturally, now every cake has to say: 

Picture
Picture
We had a great time, like always. The cake was perfect. She had printed out pictures of my trailer and gave them to the cake magician. Do you love the little frosting "rivets"? I do! And I love the way it hangs right over the base cake, because, lordy, it IS bigger than life. 
One more quick look as the cake drives off... 

Picture
Marvin
5/11/2010 04:08:54 am

Wife and I admire your spunk, vision, and guts. Sounds fun and exciting. The greatest thing about a destination is the preparation and voyage of getting there.

We restored a '47 Spartan Manor for a local museum a few years ago. Fantastic trailers. In our 70s now, so must stand on the sidelines and root for you "kids". Now we use the cheepy built modern "stick and tin" trailers.
Keep us posted with a daily dairy of your adventure across.

Reply
Laura
5/12/2010 08:06:09 am

LOVE the cake!! Must consult Monica for creative road trip accessories..

Reply
Suzanne
5/12/2010 03:02:24 pm

I LOVE that cake!

Reply



Leave a Reply.